Sedibeng Water

2 Jan 2018 by WISA

Sedibeng Water was established on 1 June 1979. Initially it serviced the Free State Goldfields and parts of the former Western Transvaal. In 1996 Sedibeng Water extended its operational area to the North West Province. Since then, Sedibeng Water grew to include the Vaal Gamagara Water Scheme in the Northern Cape Province.

In 2011 Sedibeng Water expanded its operational area further with the incorporation of the Namakwa Water Board. As a result, Sedibeng Water is now serving the Nama Khoi Local Municipality (Steinkopf, Okiep, Concordia, Carolusberg, Nababeep, and Springbok) as well as mines in the arid north-western part of the Northern Cape. Sedibeng Water has recently also incorporated the Pelladrift and Botshelo Water Boards into its operations.

The organisation currently services an operational area spanning across three provinces: The Free State, North West and Northern Cape. This makes Sedibeng Water one of the largest water utilities in the country in terms of the geographical area that it serves.

Click here to visit Sedibeng Water’s website!